PDA

View Full Version : Intergated Training - Any recomendations!?!?

Get-a-Grip
7th Sep 2007, 20:26
Hi,

I am a newbie to this site, so pardon my ignorance. I have tried searching for aswer to this, however have either found really old posts or stuff that was not applicable.

I am about to jack in my current job to train to become a pilot (hopefully!). I have done some research and due to my personal situation (married) had decided to go to CabAir, oxford was rulled out due to being around 3k higher in costs plus a nightmare for me to get back to see the missus!

However speaking with a newly qualified pilot, they said FTE (Jerez) would give me far better chances of getting that illusive first job (bearing in mind i will be 29 when i qualify). If i do go to Jerez seeing the missus would be near impossible, however it is a sacrifise we are both prepared to make, provided the school is that much better. Paying this much money, you have to be sure you are not throwing money away for the sake of a little hassle for 12 months!

Does anyone have any comments regards job selection and the flight school you trained at? specifically FTE and CabAir.

Many Thanks
Get-a-Grip

CAT3C AUTOLAND
7th Sep 2007, 21:13
Firstly welcome to PPRUNE.

Your question is one that is asked by many :).

Personally, I wouldn't worry too much about where you do your training. There are so many ways into aviation and getting your first professional pilot job. Everyone has their own story to tell. The bottom line is Cabair will do the job, I even have the claim to fame that my first PPL student went there for the professional training and is now working for Flybe on the dash :). I dont think they are perfect, but like I say the job gets done.

I know you have mentioned it, but if you are new to the industry make sure you do plenty of research and make wise choices based on visting these places and talk to their students.

All the best with it, its a great job.

Get-a-Grip
8th Sep 2007, 10:27