PDA

View Full Version : Paying for training while working full time

Capt_SlackBladder
24th May 2007, 12:24
I am looking to start my helicopter PPL very soon and aim to move up to CPL eventually with a view to making a career out of it. I will be taking the modular route as I have to work full time and am only really able to fly at weekends (and perhaps some more intense blocks of training during holidays). I just want to know if anyone else out there has taken this route. If so, what was your job whilst training and what kind of salary is required to afford it all? I am an engineer (fairly junior at the moment but still have a salary close to £30,000) and work 9 to 5. I have a mortgage and bills but I live alone with no family to support etc and always have a decent amount of disposable income each month.

Also, what're the options on gaining a CPL? Hour build until at an employable level? I know an instructor rating and then building hours working is an option but that would mean leaving my job and instructing full time. I've heard that it's poorly paid and unreliable so I'd rather have the security of the job I'm in now until I am employable in other areas of the commercial sector.

Any advice or even tales of previous / current experiences would be greatly appreciated.

Al Smith
24th May 2007, 12:37
Hi I did my PPLH in 2005, whilst being a secondary school teacher. This gave me the advantage of school holidays and it took me 75 hours and nearly £17,000 but I manged to complete the course in under eight months. I am now doing my CPL ground school via the modular course at London Metropolitan university. The course fees are about £2,000. Its a very expensive process, but I guess, in the end, worthwhile.

Bravo73
24th May 2007, 13:30
Slackbladder,

It can be done but (by all accounts), it is very, very hard work.