PDA

View Full Version : How Big For Notar?

MightyGem
23rd Mar 2007, 13:43
Is there a maximum aircraft size for using Notar? I'm thinking that the diameter of the fan would eventually become too large to be practical.

ItchyRivers
23rd Mar 2007, 14:31
A question in kind of a similiar vein. Im an aero eng student and I want to do a CFD analysis on the cross section of the tailboom of a NOTAR heli.

Would any of the pilots out there give me a rough diameter of the boom and also a picture/description of the two slots running the length of the tailboom. Also, if anyone in the know has any idea of the velocity of air in a heli downwash that would be great.

Cheers,

MightyGem
23rd Mar 2007, 17:06
Numerous pictures here, (http://images.google.co.uk/images?hl=en&q=notar&gbv=2) if they're any good.

Graviman
24th Mar 2007, 00:26
ItchyRivers, in principle there is no limit to Notar size. The biggest problem seems to be that Notar is not as effecient as either a tail rotor or fenestron. This is due to the tail rotor offering a good area, and using the front up rotation to gain extra thrust in the main rotor downwash.

A good starting point for your CFD sim is the momentum method hand calculation, as detailed by Prouty (Helicopter Performance Stability & Control).
The calculation gives:

Rotor_Induced_Velocity = SQRT ( Weight / ( 2 x Air_Density x Rotor_Area ) )

While the downwash velocity is 2 x Rotor_Induced_Velocity.

The basic concept behind Notar seems to be to try to force the coanda effect to keep the flow attatched to an unaerodynamic aerofoil (circular section). The practical installation seems to rely on the small cross section air jet to replace the tail rotor. Conventional tail rotors sometimes fit strakes to the boom, but not to produce any torque reaction. Instead these seem to provide a definate flow seperation point, to avoid buffeting in cross winds.

Hope that helps.

Mart

RVDT
24th Mar 2007, 08:18
MG,