PDA

View Full Version : Qualifications for a freelance IT/Network Techician?

Oxeagle
10th Mar 2007, 17:27
Afternoon chaps,

I would like to know what, if anything, are the minimum required qualifications to work as a freelance IT/Network technician. I have worked in such a role for a year before moving to my current job in Flight Ops doing everything from basic system repairs and upgrades to administering a 300-computer network, and prior to that I have had 5 years experience of working on computer systems and basic networks. I am now looking at doing freelance work in the evenings and weekends to help fund my flying habit :rolleyes: So, do I need a qualification such as the CompTIA A+ and N+, MCSE etc or is my experience enough on its own?

Cheers,

Ox

rotorcraig
10th Mar 2007, 18:21
If you are looking to work as a contractor, into major IT suppliers or clients then I'd say yes - professional accreditations are increasingly necessary to open the door for an interview.

From your "freelance work in the evenings and weekends" I wonder whether you are actually looking to work for private individuals (fixing PCs, setting up home wireless etc). If so, just get yourself a horse and some spurs and you'll fit in with 99% of the competition :D:ok:

RC

Cypherus
10th Mar 2007, 18:28
If your going to go freelance IT one entry level cert you will find of use is the MCDST, requires two exams and can be done as a home course, this site will steer you too what ever else you feel you might need.

http://www.mit.com.au/microsoft_tech_education/courses/courses_microsoft_certification_mcdst.htm

amanoffewwords
10th Mar 2007, 18:38
I'd go down the CCNA route.

I'll rephrase that: I am going down the CCNA route - starting this May with a course from the Open University.

Can't go wrong with Cisco, imho.

Oxeagle
10th Mar 2007, 19:13