PDA

View Full Version : Blood Platelet Count? Diet and Class 1 Medical

g1344304
9th Mar 2007, 12:19
I am currently a student graduating in June and I am in the midst of applying to several FTOs and I have yet to book my class one medical. Last year as I needed a bit of extra cash I put my self up for medical testing at a local medical research facility (yeh yeh I know its dodgy but ive done it before). Anyway I failed to get in because my blood platelet count was too low. It was borderline but just enough to keep me off the medical trial. Will this type of thing come up on the class one medical? If so how can I rectify the platelet count?

My diet may be a cause for concern, I rarely eat veg, have a lot of takeaways, frozen pizzas, and mainly other frozen food like potatoe waffles, fish fingers etc, typical student.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

TelBoy
9th Mar 2007, 14:48
I'm not an expert, but I would say get your diet sorted out. Enjoy a varity of different foods you would not of otherwise thought about. Plenty of fresh veg and fruit, a bit less alcohol (if you do - student!!) and give up the fags (again if you do) add some excersise and after about a month go and see your GP. He will give you an mot and set you up for your class 1.

All the best and happy flying

Flyin'Dutch'
10th Mar 2007, 00:43
1. Improve diet otherwise you will not get to enjoy your pension.

2. If worried talk to your GP about your platelets but unlikely to be a problem you can check with your GP if they have been made aware of the findings of the medical you had last year.

3. AIUI the blood taken during a class 1 medical is only for a cholesterol and haemoglobin (red blood cell) estimation not platelets.

g1344304
10th Mar 2007, 08:39