PDA

View Full Version : Any disadvantages with EU member state ATPL trying to get a job in the UK?

abbotyobs
18th Feb 2007, 18:45
Hi,
I am a British Mil pilot on exchange flying duties in a EU country.
I can quite easily get my JAA CPL/IR with ATPL credit theory whilst I am abroad, away from the UK and then when I go back to the UK, I can transfer my EU issued ATPL to a UK CAA one after living in the UK for 185 days.

Does anyone know if I would be disadavantaged trying to get a job with a UK airline since the initial ATPL would have been issued abroad, or does it not matter.
Thanks very much

scroggs
18th Feb 2007, 20:13
You might have problems with some airlines. There are some which demand a UK-issued licence (either CAA or JAA) because they've been burned by fraudulently-obtained licences from other EU countries in the past. Best check with your target airlines - this information is usually on the recruiting pages of their websites. Most, even if they insist on a UK-issued licence, will make a job offer contingent on you obtaining said licence by the time you turn up for your induction, so you have some time to play with.

Scroggs

Vortex Thing
19th Feb 2007, 01:45
Have you checked the QSP transfer rules for UK CAA there are copies in the 3456 and some of the JSPs too.

Are you ATPL (A) or (H) on exchange?

When I left I checked out the sites and there are many many dispensations for 2000 hrs plus QSPs you may find that you have to do surprisingly little as the courses have now all been accredited.

Those graduating from JEFTS all get a PPL now and those from METS get a CPL both JAR not UK. When you are Green rated with the requisite experience and currency you can also get your IR transferred you can even move QFI/QHI quals over.

So I'd check what you can get issued from UK, get it and then add to the UK issued JAR licence unless you want to come to work for FR of course in which case you will need and Irish JAR licence:rolleyes:

Good luck VT

abbotyobs