PDA

View Full Version : Engine failure SID vs go around pattern

PatagoniK
1st Feb 2007, 15:10
I would like to know what would you do in the case that you are approaching one engine (lets say on a 737) and you have to go around from a runway where you have published engine failure after V1 take off and go around procedure. Would you follow the missed approach procedure or the failure after V1? Where did you get it from?

Best regards.

judge11
1st Feb 2007, 15:53
There will, no doubt, be those who contribute to this thread who will be able to quote cahpter and verse for you. As a lowly line pilot, I have always been instructed (in the UK) that a single engine go-around from at or above DA/MDA follows the MAP; from below DA/MDA the emergency turn procedure. I believe that the logic is tied into the obstacle clearance criteria in that if you are already at DA (say) 200 feet above the runway you already have clearance above any obstacles considered a threat to you losing the engine at V1/Vr.

PatagoniK
1st Feb 2007, 16:14
I agree with you judge11, and your answer is logical, but I would like to know, apart from what we were instructed, if there is something "on the papers" that clearly states what to do on such cases. For example, what I read (not too much by the way) is that the definition of "missed approach" doesn't considers 50% of the available thrust. Finally, everybody applies what they consider to be more "conservative" or logical but nobody can say: -the flight manual recommends this or that-.

Thanks for your time.

mcdhu
1st Feb 2007, 16:29
.........come in JT or Old Smokey - please!!!
cheers,
mcdhu

Floppy Link
1st Feb 2007, 16:36
...plus remember that when you go around on one engine you are a runway length or so short from where the emergency turn procedure starts - thus giving lots more room - I was told to always follow the missed approach procedure (757 / 767).

PatagoniK
1st Feb 2007, 16:46