PDA

View Full Version : More time at home

changes2007
6th Jan 2007, 17:39
Hi all. This is my first time here.

Can you please give me some advice. I just had a rejection letter from Virgin, didn't get an interview? I was wondering if it was because i got a D for maths and not the C or above. GCSE'S were a long time ago and this grade doesn't reflect my abilities. Do all airlines ask to see school certificates at the interviews?? Anyone out there working with a D grade?? Anyone ever told white lies???? It's very frustrating as I consider myself to be very suitable for this job.

Also, the letter states to wait six months before applying again I know if you get to the interview it's three. Has anyone tried again much sooner??? Let me know your experiences.

Do you think it's worth me trying quantas Uk?? I just wanted Virgin as they are good with you changing rostas etc and don't mind you commuting from further away than the London areas.

Please let me know what you think as a six month wait is very depressing:{

changes2007
6th Jan 2007, 20:06
I'm looking in to applying for airlines at the moment and wondered about the long haul vs short haul. I am prepared to commute two hrs to Heathrow but wondered how much time you get off with different airlines between flights and now thinking perhaps short haul will be better?? Anyone able to give me examples??

vodkaholic
6th Jan 2007, 21:23
well, i currently fly short haul (absolutely love it!!) and working with a charter airline you will work max. 15 days a month. so if you think about it, that's really part time hours for full time pay. granted you really only get about max. 9 actual days off. the rest are home standbys (airport standbyes with certain airlines) but when ur standby ends the rest of the day is a day off!!

vodkaholic
6th Jan 2007, 21:25