PDA

View Full Version : B206 Sloping ground

Hoveronly
24th Dec 2006, 19:32
Im new to the 206B but I cant find the limitations on slopeing ground anywhere in the FM or elsewhere. Any ideas anyone?

Merry Christmas all!

Ascend Charlie
24th Dec 2006, 22:39
Depends on many factors.

If you are a fat slug, you will not get much past 7 degrees of left-to-right slope, as your chubby leg will get in the way.

If the slope is right-to-left, the left skid hangs low anyway, a normal-sized you will get around 10 degrees. But when it gets a bit scary, slippery, lumpy-bumpy and wind-gusty, cut the slope back to 5 degrees or less.

And treat every landing as if it were a slope landing - nice and gentle, slowly down.

Aesir
24th Dec 2006, 23:16
I donīt think there is any prescribed LIMIT like in the limitations chapter for the 206 like the rigid rotorhead type helicopters have.

But of course there is a physical..(is that correct?) or actual limit like Ascend Charlie explains above.

bayou06
25th Dec 2006, 01:52
Aesir is correct. There is no slope limit in the B206 RFM. The limit is the controllability of the aircraft.

B Sousa
25th Dec 2006, 02:59
First Clue is mast bumping, next clue is the cyclic wont go any farther and your rolling over.

Just be careful and on the controls, you will find the limits easily.

helopat
25th Dec 2006, 03:12
Agree with you fellas on the whole.

BUT...there's always the absolute limit, the static rollover angle, where the aircraft will roll over if tipped past that point (ie a couple of robust young men decide to see if they can tip over a jet ranger).

I can't believe there isn't some sort of slope landing limit (not sure I agree that its something that doesn't apply to a teetering head)...obviously the limit of the controls is the major factor...but most aircraft I've flown have a limit which keeps dolts like me from getting too close to the ABSOLUTE limit (whatever it may be) and tipping the old girl over by accident.

HP

charron