PDA

View Full Version : what happens when an aircraft diverts?

genius747
11th Dec 2006, 19:40
Hi, I am a student dtudying transport technology in college.
One senario that has been put to my class by one of our ops lecturers is:
A 777 flying from main land europe to the west coast USA.
Half way across the atlantic, the PIC decides to divert to Rekjavick, Iceland due to a fuel feed problems with the port engine.
The aircraft lands uneventfully in Iceland.

Now there is a u/s 777 on the ground in Iceland along with 300 passengers that are supposed to be in LA. There is a further 300 passengers now arriving in LA airport expecting an aircraft waiting there to fly them back to Europe.
There is now a crew out of hours in Iceland, another crew ready to fly in LA with no aircraft. There is no handling agents for the airline in Iceland, no maintenance there for the a/c either......

The airline ops section now has this major problem on their hands, what do they do??

Baisically if someone that deals with these situations is reading this post I would be intruged at how a problem like this is dealt with... how are hotels arranged, compensation for passengers, getting the aircraft flying again, getting the passengers to LA, etc etc etc... Also how are visas dealth with... can all passengers leave the airport.... all the problems etc..

I am really intrested in the thought process an airline puts into dealing with a situation like this, costs involved.... mabye even an example or too.

I really apologise for any grammer or spelling mistakes in my post, as I don't have time to re-read this post right now!

Thanks again for any advise/information here.

G747

Founder
11th Dec 2006, 22:57
1: Dealing with passengers in LA.