PDA

View Full Version : BAC Express Airlines Ops

Old Bournemouthian
30th Nov 2006, 19:15
Hi, I'm new to this so not sure if this thread is in the correct forum. Mods, please feel free to move it if not.

I've been invited to attend an interview for Operations Officer with BAC Express next week and was wondering whether anyone has any info about the job itself and the company in general.

I've looked at their website and there is a little info about the fleet, but not much else. And i've also searched on here, but can't find anything about BAC themselves.

Any info/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance.

HZ123
2nd Dec 2006, 19:13
I thought that thay had as good as gone bust some 6 months ago, but clearly not. Suggest you put thia up on cargo thread I am sure you learn.

HZ123
2nd Dec 2006, 19:15
I thought that thay had as good as gone bust some 6 months ago, but clearly not. Suggest you put thia up on freight dogs thread I am sure you learn.

VIKING9
3rd Dec 2006, 07:05
When I worked there some years back, we had a good team in OPS. The Ops Manager was a sound bloke and I'd work for him again anyday. There were problems, but no more I guess than any other small operator. I think I would have stayed had it not been for the fact I was offered a job with a loco and closer to home.

The company has gone through lots of changes over the last few years or so and has moved away from Air Contractors ownership. Now privately owned I believe and starting to expand which in the present climate, is good news.

I think it's time maybe for them to take a look at updating all their systems and go a bit more automated in terms of crewing, data recording etc. Costs have to be considered it's true, but in order to be more efficient, they need to change the way some things are done. IMHO you understand !!

Maybe look at more modern a/c too, like ATR's. Surely the sheds days are numbered ???