PDA

View Full Version : Manchester/Liverpool Low Level Corridor?!

tiggermoth
22nd Nov 2006, 22:19
Ok, so I've got the PPL. Now what?

If I want to go south of Barton (my local field/pond) then I need to go down the Low Level Corridor it appears between Liverpool and Manchester.

It appears to be under 4 nm wide, and at only 1250 feet.

What stops us lot from:

a) bumping into each other
b) bursting into controlled airspace
c) intercepting ground or high structure

The route I'm planning is between Barton and Caernarfon.

Is there an easy guide to negotiating the corridor by VFR (or other means) or perhaps suggesting an alternative route (North of Liverpool perhaps but below 3000 ft etc..)

Cheers,
Yours bewildered,
"I'm a pilot, get me out of here!"
TiggerMoth

Beethoven
22nd Nov 2006, 23:50
Hiya, used to fly from Barton too and am resuming in the new year to fly from there. With regards to this piece of airspace I must admit it is not great but it is not difficult to navigate using good old DR and keeping VERY watchful of heading/drift/altitude. There are sadly IIRC no handy line features to follow but quite a few landmarks. The danger of collision is undoubtedly higher here than in more open spaces but again just keep as good a lookout as you can (and hope the guy coming the other way is doing the same!). Have you flown the corridor with an instructor?
With regards to your trip to caernarfon, why not try Liverpool for a zone transit and have the low-level corridor planned out if refused, or as you say, a route round the north and back down if you prefer. Have done this trip quite a few times and always been allowed through the Liverpool zone.

Beet.

MyData
23rd Nov 2006, 06:36
From the CAA:

http://www.caa.co.uk/docs/299/Manchester%20Low%20Level%20Route_2006_CAA.pdf

It might also be worthwhile to do this with an instructor once or twice to get familiar.

mazzy1026
23rd Nov 2006, 07:35