PDA

View Full Version : Syd-lon Passport Options

NIGELINOZ
21st Nov 2006, 03:42
Hi Everyone,
I will be travelling to the UK next year(Oct-Nov) and would appreciate the opinions of others about this question.
I was born in the UK in 1960,came to Australia with my parents as migrants and have not travelled overseas since we arrived in 1965.
I am a permanent Australian resident without any form of passport although I have a travel document issued for a single journey to my parents which I am included on.
My question is which would be easier-Obtain a UK passport and get a returning resident visa to re enter Australia or apply for Aussie citizenship and get an Aussie passport and therefore no need for a visa?
(I am assuming I don't need a visa to enter the UK)
It's pretty sad being a 46 year old who has not travelled os yet but hey I
better things to do-like partying till all hours!:)
Any opinions appreciated.
cheers from downunder!

redsnail
21st Nov 2006, 09:35
Get both. You're entitled to them.

The Australian one might be the tougher of the two as you will need some form of evidence that you're a permanent resident/citizen. You'll need your birth certificate and some form proof of residency. It'll be all on the form at the Post Office. (or online).

The British passport is pretty easy to get if you're entitled to it (you're British by birth). All you would need is your birth certificate.
I went to Canberra to the British High Commission. (daughter of a Brit. Needed my birth certificate, my parents marriage certificate and Dad's birth certificate).

I believe extracts aren't accepted, only full birth certificates.

With regards as to which one's best to get back to Australia permanently. You'll definitely need the Australian passport unless you can somehow get proof of permanent residency in the British passport.