PDA

View Full Version : Aren't you bored to death as SO?

regulator
14th Oct 2006, 10:56
I am to start with CX as SO, but also have the option to fly short sectors on a medium jet(A320) with loads of hands on time.(I have no jet experience)
My question is;
1)How do you cope for 4years as a SO? Aren't you bored to death, just watching the autopilot?
2)Doesn't it take all the fun out of flying?
3)Are there SO's that don't make the upgrade JFO/FO? Does that mean you would have spent 4years without having a rating in the end??
4)Would it be better to get some jet experience and then reapply as FO? Seems CX is going to start bringing FO's direct onto PAX fleet??
5)Is flying for CX as FO really worth 4 years wait?

Thanks

Regulator:uhoh:

goingdown
14th Oct 2006, 11:49
Well,it really depends what you want.If you are into flying then it is npt a job for you.If you are into lifestyle and the flying is secondary,then go for it.I thonk being an SO is probably not great if you have no jet experience.I love my lifestyle at CX and i know it won't last that long so i enjoy every minute of it.But that's me...just my 2 cents.

airbusa330
14th Oct 2006, 12:48
I have the same question regarding JFO upgrade, what is the actual process?What are the obstacles if any?

Right attitude,personal track record within the company, having passed all check/training to an accepatble standard,passing a Type rating course in accordance with time allocated, within operating parameters of CX etc?What would happen in the unfortunate event that one does fail the upgrade?

Cheers
A330

flyingkiwi
14th Oct 2006, 13:01