PDA

View Full Version : Package Deals

jongriff
7th Sep 2006, 16:30
Hi All

This is my first thread .... ever please be kind

I am a 20 hours PPL student. I have paid upfront for my PPL course but due to NEVER seeming to get in the air (twice this year!) I am looking to do it in Spain. However my school, who shall of course remain nameless, won't give me back what I haven't used.
So, is this right?
If it is right what can I do.
When I have asked if someone maybe interested in buying me out, calls, emails are not returned/ignored

let me know your thoughts guys

Laterz
J:ugh: :confused:

no sponsor
7th Sep 2006, 16:51
Silly boy. Difficult to know, unless you give some more facts.

What is the reason you have only gotten into the air twice in 8 months?
Did you sign a contract?
How did you pay the establishment - Credit/Debit card or cash.
Who have you spoken to in person at the school - owner/CFI? How have those conversations been, and what is the reason they are giving for not handing it back?

There are just too many crooks in this game to be paying up-front.

Lister Noble
7th Sep 2006, 17:39
jongriff,
What rotten luck,maybe they shouldn't remain NAMELESS.
Perhaps try and get some legal advice,even CAB could help with basic info?
Lister
Sorry CAB=citizens advice bureau

maggioneato
7th Sep 2006, 18:44
Someone I know who paid up front then found he had to move house before the completion of his PPL didn't get a refund as the price agreed and paid was a contract to complete in X amount of hours, and as he was breaking the agreed contract it was his loss. Never pay up front for many reasons, pay as you fly.
I think I can guess where you have been flying from your location, possibly the same place as my friend.

helicopter-redeye
7th Sep 2006, 19:51
If you would care to post the details of the contract, we will be happy to review and advise accordingly.

tangovictor
7th Sep 2006, 23:09
I paid up front, as it appears most schools offer a better deal, that way,