PDA

View Full Version : Excel help please?

BOAC
1st Sep 2006, 22:25
Win XP SP2 and Excel 2000. All Excel files (.pxl) I transfer and convert from my IPAQ PDA to .xls on the desktop and then 'save' appear to have 'macros' in them, although I have not written any. With 'security' at 'medium' I get a warning of macro presence every time I try to open a 'saved' spreadsheet which has come from the IPAQ. If I just open them without saving there is no macro warning, and new Excel sheets generated on the desktop do not do it either.

Are there any settings I have to adjust? It is causing problems putting the worksheets back, as they return to the IPAQ as Pocket Excel 'place holders' with no contents. I'm certain this is a relatively new phenomonen.:confused:

LD Max
1st Sep 2006, 22:52
First, I have no knowledge of the PDA version(s) of Excel.

However, if you are getting a macro warning when opening the file in XP, it is because there is some Visual Basic module lurking in the file. The module can contain macros, but even if the module is empty its mere existence will give this warning when opening the file.

To remove the warnings, you need to remove the module(s) as follows:

Caution: Removing VB modules may remove some functionality from the file. It may be specific to the iPaQ - I don't know... but I might suggest you work on a COPY of the file first.

Use <Alt-F11> to open the visual basic editor.

Use <Ctrl-R> to open the Project Browser in the editor window.

Look for any folders in the Project Browser other than the folder called "Microsoft Excel Objects" (which contains your worksheets).

The culprit will probably be called the Module folder.

Expand the folder and select any module within it. Right click on each module and select "remove module(x)" from the drop down menu.

Repeat until all the modules are deleted and the containing folder should disappear also.