PDA

View Full Version : BA Connect/EMB 145

Hampshire Hog
31st Aug 2006, 12:21
First I should say I am not a BA basher - quite the opposite, I fly as a private pilot with their flying club and I have always chosen to use them when I fly from LHR for work.
However, in the last two weeks, I have taken my first 3 flights from SOU with BA Connect on the EMB145. The first flight was cancelled because the aircraft went Tech. I am not one for getting uptight about this; I would rather be delayed than fly on a faulty aircraft.
Having said that, the return journey ended with a final approach into SOU that even as a humble PA28 pilot I would say was very poor. I don't care about hard landings, but a couple of steepish turns (for late final) - I would estimate 15 to 20 degrees angle of bank (probably when the A/P was uncoupled) - at about 200' seemed to me, in an airliner, rather dodgy. Needless to say, this did not result in the best of let downs. I was expecting a go-around from such a destabilised approach.
Finally, I flew back from EDI yesterday with the same. First, we were held on the stand because a BMI Embraer stopped behind us with a tech fault. Then we pushed back and, after 3 or 4 attempts to start the no.1 engine, the Captain said we were going back on the stand to see if an 'indication on the flight deck' could be cleared. He then 're-booted' the aircraft. With no further flight deck message to a worried looking set of passengers, we then took off. There was some vibration on t/o and quite a lot of wobbling around which I had not experienced on the type before and I reported to the cabin crew, but it was clear when I left the aircraft after landing that this had not been communicated to the flight deck during the flight. There was no further communication for PAX from the flight deck at all. On arrival at SOU and engineer was brought on-board before all PAX had left the aircraft.