PDA

View Full Version : Cessna 172 RG

Shaft109
24th Jun 2006, 16:46
Hello all, I'm doing a complex checkout and so far all my flying is on the mighty Pa28 warrior and so what differences can I expect in terms of handling etc in the C172RG?

This is only a general discussion as I have no cessna experience and was going to do it on the Arrow, but the school has swapped aircraft!

Thanks for the time

Shaft

172driver
24th Jun 2006, 18:11
Shaft, I think you'll find the 172RG very different from the good ol' PA28. This goes for pretty much everything, from seating position to handling. The RG is what I usually fly, so in a nutshell:

- the wingloading on a Cessna (any Cessna, for that matter) is lower than on a Piper, they feel much more 'nervous' at first.

- landing an RG can be quite tricky. I've see more than one (experienced) guy really struggle with it. The reason, IMHO, is the big nosewheel door, which, once openend, really changes the way the a/c behaves. When flaring it can feel like you are floating on a 'cushion' of air. Landing an RG in a crosswind most definitley reminds you what these rudder pedals are for :E !

- that said, a Cessna floats a lot less than a PA28, due to high wing

- depending on your a/c you may have a 40 deg flap setting. Use this with care, as it significantly changes the airflow over the rudder - which you will need!

- speaking of flaps, these of course are electric in a Cessna, therefore you don't get the instantaneous 'ooomph' of the 'handbrake' application ;)

- the view is very different in a Cessna, high vs low wing here. Flying a right-hand pattern (circuit) can be bit challenging at first, as you lose sight of the runway turning base.

- you'll enjoy much more space in the cockpit than in a PA28

- on the whole it's a great a/c to fly :ok:

Piltdown Man
24th Jun 2006, 19:14