PDA

View Full Version : 6 months to plan a long trip?

Confabulous
3rd Jun 2006, 14:25
After reading a trip article somewhere, the final piece of advice was 'Take at least 6 months to plan the trip'. Granted, the flight was for two aircraft going from the UK to Spitzbergen/Svalbard and back, but SIX MONTHS? I'm a humble student pilot at the moment, but this seems ridiculous. I'm not saying it should be planned in a day, or even a week, but two weeks to a month seems more reasonable. Are they waiting for the aircraft to rust?

I know you need to plan with all due diligence, and you'll need immersion suits, current weather & GPS updates, maintenance, NavBox, a backup GPS, but it really smacks of being slightly too cautious - an engine can fail just as easily in six months time. Before some mentions waiting until summer, they flew in winter/spring, potential icing conditions (although below icing levels), entirely acceptable of course, but six months planning is really taking the mickey. Funny thing too, they flew in loose (ish) formation a lot during the trip - surely increasing risk exponentially?

Apologies if I'm showing a lot of ignorance here, I'd just like to understand why it takes so long to plan.

Julian
3rd Jun 2006, 15:27
Does seem an incredibly long time!

The person writing the article maybe someone has previously just been used to bimbling about the circuit and not really done any long trip planning before.

What was the trip distance? Duration? stops? etc?

NinjaBill
3rd Jun 2006, 15:32
Does seem an incredibly long time!
The person writing the article maybe someone has previously just been used to bimbling about the circuit and not really done any long trip planning before.
What was the trip distance? Duration? stops? etc?

If you are talking about the article in Flyer magazine, then the pilot in question has many thousands of hours flying twin piston aircaft, with a large proportion IFR.