PDA

View Full Version : AEF Flying

Thud Ridge
30th May 2006, 09:59
Gents,

Does AEF flying still happen alongside the UAS? And what are the criteria needed for becoming an AEF pilot?

Thanks for your help

TR

noonoos
30th May 2006, 10:30
I'm on a UAS and we are most certainly paired with an AEF. After the new sheme has come into place they do a lot of flying with us students. I wouldn't have a clue how you go about joining them though. Sorry.

Noos

Gainesy
30th May 2006, 10:44
Thud,
Try sending a private message to Wholigan, who is one of the moderators on the Jetblast section of the forum. He is an AEF pilot I believe.

PS No F-105s on AEFs.:)

Jambo Jet
30th May 2006, 10:55
I used to be an AEF pilot, for me it was a holding post between flying training courses. However if you were a serving service pilot it should be easy to get involved, if you have not served in the past it will be much more difficult although not impossible. I believe the command chain goes upto Commandant CFS, so I guess his PA at Cranwell would be a good point of contact.

Once current on the Grob I believe you need to complete a flying ability test every 3 months or so to keep current. (A FAT consists of simple emergency leading to PFL, a spin if you do aeros and ccts various.)

Dunno if they'd have me back though, Ive got the control column of one I parked in a field in my garage.

idle stop
30th May 2006, 16:29