PDA

View Full Version : Skin cancer on top of ears

Centaurus
18th May 2006, 09:43
Many years ago I was diagnosed with a skin cancer on the top of my left ear and the doctor was concerned enough to lop of the top of the ear. Now there is a minor difference in size of the ears but there has been no trace of the cancer since. I had been flying in the Pacific area for 12 years in the left seat of a 737 and was wondering if anyone has struck a similar problem after extensive tropical flying. When flying LH seat it is obvious the left ear is quite close to the left window in a 737 and the sun bores in.

Mac the Knife
18th May 2006, 11:31
Common place to get skin cancers.

In L hand drive countries the driver (in the RHS) gets it on the right - ears and arm/hand. Vice versa in R hand drive countries.

SLIP - on a shirt
SLAP - on a hat
SLOP - on a sunscreen

specialrider987
18th May 2006, 11:59
The exposure to the sun in the cockpit of an aircraft is irrelevant. The harmfull UV rays are absorbed by the glass. That is why one cannot get a suntan indoors behind glass!

Skin cancer is statistically more likely to have come from exposure to the sun when you were a young child and received sunburn(s). It's more likely related to exposure during leisure/recreational/sporting activities outside in the sun.

By the time most baby boomers are in their mid 40s they have had something related to skin irregularities removed or treated.

There is some excellent stuff on the interweb available in the way of photos to assist diagnosis, and treatment options are plentiful.

See a dermatologist for accurate diagnosis/biopsy and most dermatologists will refer to a plastic surgeon for removals/dissections on the face and neck area.

Good luck! :ok:

HotDog
18th May 2006, 12:05