PDA

View Full Version : Multi IFR take-off minima question

Roger Copy Ta
23rd Apr 2006, 03:37
I'm studying for IREX and having problems with take off minima questions.

My understanding is: for single engine IFR a/c always use 300' and 2km vis

For multi engine IFR a/c (such as OZY, not 2 pilot), OCTA with no IAP, use LSALT and 5km vis, taking into account airfield elevation.

or... if there is an IAP use the approach landing minima, taking into account airfield elevation, runway in use due wind and the possiblity of subtracting 100' with the correct QNH.

Does this change if taking off from a controlled radar aerodrome?
When would a multi engine a/c such as OZY use the 300' and 2km vis minima, if ever?

I keep getting these questions wrong and I can't see my error. If someone could please help me out with this it would be much appreciated.

AerocatS2A
23rd Apr 2006, 04:31
You can use 300' and 2km if you don't intend to return to the departure airfield in the event of an emergency (engine failure for example.) With light twins having quite poor performance on one engine, most people plan to use the departure airfield as their emergency field and so the take-off minima becomes the landing minima for the most appropriate approach, or weather sufficient to allow for a visual approach if there is no IAP. The presence of ATC and controlled airspace is not directly relevant.

With that in mind, I would use the landing minima if in a single as well. So I can return if I have a partial engine failure or something.

Chimbu chuckles
23rd Apr 2006, 04:54
From memory..and it's been a while since I was a IR examiner.

For single engine aircraft;

Standard Takeoff minima (300/2km) apply except where noted on the landing chart.

For 2,3 and 4 engine aircraft <5700kg MTOW, SP, no auto feather, unable to climb on one engine at 1.9% standard takeoff minima (300/2km) apply except where noted on the landing chart.

No IAL at night visual below the LSA/MSA within 3nm of the aerodrome.