PDA

View Full Version : Starting Learning Books

NI-RYAN
1st Apr 2006, 19:43
I am currently studying for my GCSE’s but for a few years now I know that I want to become a pilot and have researched many options, but there seems so many choices to me!
I have researched universities and also training schools and I know I will have to do a lot of work to get there but I think I can.
Does anyone know any good books that would help me get introduced to flying and the aspects of it?
Thanks

Troy McClure
1st Apr 2006, 20:18
Try and get yourself a trial lesson at a local flying school. You'll learn more about flying in that hour than you will from a book and they'll advise you how to procede from there. If you're over 14, you can log the hour, and over 16 it will count towards your PPL if that's the way you decide to go.

AIRWAY
3rd Apr 2006, 16:06
Hello there,

Indeed get yourself a trial lesson first of all, then your medical and then the books, you can start reading some PPL stuff, Trevor Thom books are great.

There is also a good book available online (free), i can't remember the link at the moment, but i promise when i get home i shall search my laptop for the link.

All the best :ok:

captwannabe
3rd Apr 2006, 16:13
I was in a similar position to you. Definitely get a trial lesson, and if you like it then go and get a medical. Two very important things to do when starting off. :ok:

Troy McClure
3rd Apr 2006, 16:51
Airway,

Don't know if we're talking about the same book, but there's a good one called 'See how it flies' at http://www.av8n.com/.

Possibly a bit beyond the PPL level, but I couldn't find much wrong with the author's logic, and I've got an Aeronautical Engineering degree.

NI-RYAN
15th Apr 2006, 13:10
airway , any luck on that link?

AIRWAY
16th Apr 2006, 20:58
Troy,

That is the book indeed :ok:

NI-RYAN,

The link i mentioned is the same provided by Troy.

Regards

Oxeagle
16th Apr 2006, 22:13
NI-RYAN,