PDA

View Full Version : Best Methods for Catching Attention

pomme pilot
14th Mar 2006, 06:14
G’day to my fellow aviators.
Just a few quick questions, and please do not reply with negativity.
I am a UK Citizen, residing and working in Australia flying light singles. Holding 450tt MECIR fATPL etc. Whilst working I am studying for a JAA conversion, and will sit the exams at the end of my summer contract, with a view to returning to the motherland (UK).
Firstly is there a better time to apply in the UK? And secondly, is the system for getting an employers attention much the same as over here, that is persistence, door knocking, phoning to keep in contact etc? Or will this behaviour be met with a negative response?
Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

A320rider
14th Mar 2006, 13:48
if you call, it is an answermachine.
if you write, you receive a usual answer like:"no open position"
if you knock at the door, you can maybe speak to someone who will tell you:"do you have b777 type-rating?

and one of these days, after waiting 8-12 years and working in a fast food,a company will call you and will turn you down because their minimum requirement is 27years old...:{

and some of you will think: At least I have tried!!!

(I have to go, 3 bigmac to make:ugh: )

Send Clowns
14th Mar 2006, 14:00
If you are like A320, and believe that a jet job should be handed to you on a plate, getting miserable when it isn't and not wishing to fly anything less, then you might have quite a wait. If you are willing to work your way up, and fly anything anyone will pay you for then the prospects have never looked better!