PDA

View Full Version : FAA to JAA, is it worth it (Merged)?

Heph224
31st Jan 2006, 22:36
1450 TT, with 600 Multi all in Piston Aircraft.
I have an FAA Commercial Pilot Certificate and Legal right to work in Europe.

Is it worth my time and effort to convert to JAA?
Should I do the conversion in the USA or will it be cheaper in Europe?
If I do convert, what are the chances of landing a decent job with my experience? I really don't want to pay for a type rating unless I really have to......

Tnx

boogie-nicey
1st Feb 2006, 09:06
I'm no expert but from I gather in general:

You'll have to do the writtens though they can be done in the US but you'll need to attend compulsory 2 weeks classroom study at the end of each phase (2 phases).

I think you can do the Commercial at an JAA approved school in the US like Naples Air Centre, EFTA, Phoneix something or another :)

But the IR test and maybe some hours have to be done in Europe. The whole FAA to JAA thing is not so much a conversion but a means to protect the European market. You'll also get the obligatory "you do not know wnaything about flying until we have taught you" attitude as it appears the laws of physics are different in Europe.

At the same time it's almost impossible to find work with a FAA certificate (though a 1% chance might exist somewhere). If you can build up the time to many thousands then there might be some exemptions :)-

PM if you want more information. Happy flying and take care.

Dirty Harry 76
1st Feb 2006, 14:36
Heph224

Sounds like you have some good experiance. Unlike the USA that has too many Wanabees and Experianced Pilots there is a shortage of experianced guys/gals in Europe.......that is Type rated with experiance on Multi Crew Aircraft.