PDA

View Full Version : Encouragement to all wanabe pilots

AerocatS2A
24th Jan 2006, 03:40
I have been flying for over ten years and have had a fantastic time, I would never have changed a thing. My first job was giving aerobatic joyrides in a Pitts Special. After that I got into flying a Tiger Moth, and even an AT6 Harvard. I've had the opportunity to fly all sorts of unusual aircraft but have now settled down into a multi turbine IFR job.

Everyone I knew who was learning to fly at the same time I was, and who stuck with the training (i.e., they didn't give up half way through because "it's too hard", or "I won't get a job"), got a job quite quickly. One of the guys I was learning with initially flew Tiger Moths and a Stearman on his first job, he then went on to flying a DC3, and last I heard was flying in an airline in the UK.

All of my other friends in aviation have had successful careers also.

Yes it is hard at times.

Yes it can take a while to get the first job.

Yes it can be depressing looking at the ratio of unemployed pilots to jobs available.

But, if you persevere you will get there.

Anyone who tries to tell you otherwise is just trying to scare the competition into pulling out of the game, don't fall for it.

powdermonkey
24th Jan 2006, 05:46
Much better!!!:ok:

FlyUK
24th Jan 2006, 07:38
I would like to second that....

...I had a call yesterday to say that I was in (to a big airline) and am over the moon. As has been said before, yes it is hard work, but you have to keep at it! DO NOT GIVE UP, it will happen eventually. :ok:

Jonty
24th Jan 2006, 07:49
I would third that....

I would add another piece of advice and that is the importance of a positive mental attitude!

It comes across at interview like nothing else.

Kerropi
24th Jan 2006, 07:57
SIGH :\

All I got are rejections rejections and rejections...:sad:

But the glass is still half FULL :rolleyes:

K.

FlyUK
24th Jan 2006, 08:07