PDA

View Full Version : Instructor training

Dnathan
30th Dec 2005, 21:20
Hi,

I have a story I'd like to share and get your opinion on, about what happened to me to day.

I am 23 years old and I hold FAA ME/SE CPL + IR and have about 320 hours total now, currently going for my FAA Certified Flight Instructor rating.

Today I went for my "second" stage I check and passed. I failed the first one 1 week ago being the first stage check or check-ride I have failed so far throughout my training.
I was told by our chief flight instructor, that I was a really excellent pilot, but when it came to my skills as a teacher, I was cocky, overconfident and in general as a person, I was immature and had no social skills.
That came pretty much like a lightning from a clear sky, but I coped with it and tried a different teaching style that seemed better in their eyes I guess.

Anyway, we were out again and I was teaching him landings and touch and go's at an uncontrolled airfield with 4200' runways in a Piper Warrior III. After the very first TnG on crosswind, he told me I had a stuck throttle fully open. Fighting with the trim and controls leveling off pattern altitude, I told him I would fly a wider pattern and kill the engine within glide-range of the runway. At the same time I pointed out, that the RPM was about to red-line if we didn't do something soon. This is when he shouted "NO - USE YOUR KNOWLEDGE OF THE AIRCRAFT. YOU'RE AN INSTRUCTOR NOW, YOU SHOULD NOW BETTER".
Building up stress by the situation, I told him I didn't know what else to do, that if I was on my own or with a student that is what I would have done. He then shouted even more criticizing my lack of knowledge of the airplane.
Meanwhile, we were on the base leg now about to turn final, when finally he told me what he had in mind - to use the mixture lever as throttle. He then grabbed the mixture and retarded it, making the engine rpm drop down, though the engine sounded awful to my ears.