PDA

View Full Version : IT and Aviation?

chapers
22nd Dec 2005, 09:04
Hi,

I'm an extreme wanabee pilot but like most wanabee's, I have financial difficulties.

I'm starting an IT course (CompTia A+) soon and was wondering if getting into IT has any relevance to working within the commercial/aviation industry?

I aspire to be pilot and fly long-haul and would like to know if getting into IT would help me at all?

Also, what sort of jobs could I work in closely related to flying with IT qualifications?

Would appreciate any feedback from IT peeps or anyone with some handy info.

Regards,

Rob

geordiejet
22nd Dec 2005, 09:24
I have a BSc In Information Technology, from Newcastle University. I would say in terms of relevent knowledge I learned very litt; we did however learn about problem solving, and triple-triple redundancy in the tripple seven and about fault tolerance.

However in terms of relevent skills I learned an awful lot; you work in group projects, you use you leadership skills, learn how to deal with problems/problem solving, plan for alternitives, workload management, commercial awareness and also showing you have the abolity to learn.

IMHO, I chose IT as it would give me a back up should something happen and I couldnt workm or find a job, then I have seomthing to fall back on. I wasnt too keen on an 'aviation' subject, as I was thinking at the time if I dont make it, perhaps aviation realted IT would be a nice career.

You learn most of the technical aspects required for using the onbard computing systems, but having a strong IT background makes it that little bit easier to learn.

And besides, IT projects can be fun; someone in my class made a reservaton system and the other made some ATC thing, which all looked very interesting!!

Hope this is of help, good luck in whatever you do.

Happy Holidays to all :-)

wingbar
22nd Dec 2005, 15:32