PDA

View Full Version : Flight school in us

boon99
21st Dec 2005, 15:53
Hi I am new to this and interest in being a pilot. I have been searching for flight schools, but I do not know which schools have good training and such...Is there any famous by reputation/known school to look for? I hope to be able to get into major airline pilot like many people :)

Also, do we really need a 4 year degree to get a job in major airline pilot?

Sean H
21st Dec 2005, 17:36
Im in the same shoe's as yourself.
You dont nees a 4 yr degree just an ATPL(A)
Look at the OBA posts at the top of the page and read it. Im going to florida next year to get my licence at OBA

prozack
21st Dec 2005, 18:04
Hello,

I am also persuing the "major Airline" career. As you probably know, a 4-yr. degree is not mandated by the FAA. I have an aunt who does the hiring for Skywest Airlines. She, as well as a billion other people in the industry have told me, "you must make yourself competitive in the pilot pool." Without a 4-yr degree, you are not going to have that competitive edge. A 4-yr degree in anything will get you far, a 4-yr. degree in Aviation will get you farther. When I first decided to become a pilot, I was not going to get a degree. After talking to many pilots and industry insiders, I now know if I want to be a pilot with someone other than a cropdusting company, I must get a 4-yr. degree.

Whichever route you decide to take, good luck!

boon99
21st Dec 2005, 20:58
Yea, I know what you mean, mostly for commercial airline pilot is a competitive position.

Its just because right now I just finish 2 year college, so Id like to know in every ways become a pilot working in major airlines.

B200Drvr
22nd Dec 2005, 03:13
Guys,
I attended a flight school in Ft Pierce, Florida called Ari Ben Aviator. I looked for two years to find a school that would meet the following:
1) Set cost. (no suprises, no add ons, no price hikes, no nothing)
2) Multi engine time.
3) Value for money.