PDA

View Full Version : What to say??

Natit
1st Dec 2005, 03:16
What do you say to someone who asks what you do for a living, and then once you tell them you're a pilot they then go on to ask "Oh cool. So someday you want to become a commercial pilot and then maybe fly the big jets?"

There's no point in trying explain that you're ALREADY a commercial pilot but you need an ATPL and a f*** load of hours etc.

There's gotta be some whitty replies somewhere??

Maybe I should just say I'm a glorified bus driver? :)

Howard Hughes
1st Dec 2005, 03:30
You might want to try Jetblast, that's where the witty pruners hang out...;)

HH.
:ok:

AerocatS2A
1st Dec 2005, 08:41
Serious answer:

I don't bother with correcting their ideas about a "commercial pilot", I know what they mean and that's all that counts.

So, I generally say "yeah, I'm working towards it" or something.

I generally try not to encourage any conversation about what I do because most people don't know enough about it to be able to have a useful conversation.

They say, "what do you fly?", I say, "a Dash 8", they give me a blank look. Sometimes I might describe it or tell them a route that it flies in case they've been on one. Mostly I just give up.

Don't get me wrong, I don't ignore non-aviation people, I just try to talk to them about what they do, not what I do, I find it more interesting that way.

gspinz
1st Dec 2005, 09:01
"i wrangle tigers and feed the penguins" <-- chicks dig that.

gspinz

DeBurcs
1st Dec 2005, 09:11
Do you also have a card that says you do that?

And other things like:

Bars emptied
Coups Plotted
Gov'ts Overthrown
Virgins de-flowered
Last of the Big-Time Spenders
etc
etc

Yeah I used to have sh!t like that too.

I also thought chicks dug it.

Turns out not many chicks thought me being a Pilot was worth a pinch of snot compared to the interns (or whatever you call a young, male, trainee doctor) or other guys with proper-paying jobs.