PDA

View Full Version : Small charter company interview

Saul
29th Nov 2005, 11:10
Hey

Now I've scrolled through all the topics available and I havent seen this question asked, if it is there somewhere I appologise.

I'm an NZ pilot about to move to Oz after I done my instrument rating, i'm clued up on how to convert and where to go for jobs etc etc but am unsure about what to say at an interview I may get.

I will be looking into the small charter companies first but if that fails i'll try a cattle station job, anything really.

I am obviously going to study Oz law big time and spend some cash to get some Oz hours so i'm confident on your different procedures but what else could they ask me on, P of F???

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

JetABro
3rd Dec 2005, 04:13
If it's your first job then I wouldn't worry about an instrument rating, it's unlikely to be needed right away and IFR over there is a bit different (better of doing it over there when you need it). Your money would be better spent going to the places where the operators are (northern Australia mostly), buy a car and go see them all. Right time, right place will most likely be what gets you the job. So being there is a good start. It's a great idea to do a couple of flights to understand the different way they operate (but don't worry it's not so different). It might be best to do it in the area that you are likely to be operating so you can get a feel for local procedure. This will also be helpfull to get some inside knowladge on the area, ie: operators/people to talk to, who's hiring, who not to wok for, etc. Also you will need to get use to the kiwi jokes, their nothing personal, it's just some Aussies dislike us (I think they fear our superior intelligence?fs!!, but be careful, some don't even understand sarcastic comments!!)