View Full Version : FBI sending virii???


Wing Commander Fowler
25th November 2005, 14:15
Just got the following with a sober virus attached......

Dear Sir/Madam,

we have logged your IP-address on more than 30 illegal Websites.

Important:
Please answer our questions!
The list of questions are attached.


Yours faithfully,
Steven Allison



*** Federal Bureau of Investigation -FBI-
*** 935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Room 3220
*** Washington, DC 20535
*** phone: (202) 324-3000


What WILL they think of next.......:ugh:



Telstar
25th November 2005, 15:03
http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/fbi.asp

http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/soberx.asp

Wing Commander Fowler
25th November 2005, 15:17
nah it's a different one - I only visited 30 sites hehe!

Cheers tho'

hobie
25th November 2005, 17:07
30 illegal sites is mentioned here .....

http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.sober.x@<hidden>

BOAC
26th November 2005, 13:40
While you ponder those 'illegal sites' watch out for the other email titles here (http://www.pprune.org/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=199388)

Wing Commander Fowler
27th November 2005, 21:02
Well I wrote to the FBI and thanked 'em for it anyhow hehe.....!
:p

seacue
27th November 2005, 22:14
Y'all should be using something like MailWasher. It allows you to examine the header or whole message as straight ASCII before downlaoding. A message "from the FBI" but sent from Korea or Brazil never gets downloaded to my computer.

Likewise there have been a couple of recent "You have a postcard from a friend!" messages with attachment that came from suspicious oversea sites.

Defence is time consuming, but my virus / worm protection never seems to have a job to do after the above manual screening.

sc