PDA

View Full Version : Adding RAM

Chitty's Leader
23rd Nov 2005, 20:00
Hi everyone.

I'm looking at adding some more RAM to my desktop - currently 256MB, thinking of adding 512MB or 1GB.

Now, I'm a complete novice at this sort of thing, but understand it is pretty easy to do. I had the back off the computer today, and have deduced I have DDR RAM with 184-pin sockets.

Now, my question. Looking at the various products available, I notice all RAM has a variety of codes. On mine, it says PC2100, while the 1GB module I'm looking at from Dabs.com has PC 3200. Do I need to match the 'PC' number to the newly bought RAM, or can I chuck any DDR, 184-pin module in?????!

Thanks for any help!

maxell
23rd Nov 2005, 20:31
I would check what RAM your motherboard can support if its only got PC2100 it may not be able to support anything above that.
Also windows variants below XP may not like or be able to find RAM above 512mb

Max

NotTheOrganGrinder
23rd Nov 2005, 20:41
Go to

http://www.crucial.com/uk/

and walk through the memory selector. This should tell you which type of memory to use. The specs are not crucial specific, so you can use what it says to buy from anywhere you fancy.

Spinflight
24th Nov 2005, 10:19
Usually adding RAM is a doddle but there are a few things to watch out for.

Make sure that the memory you install is recognised by the BIOS before booting into an OS, I had huge problems once when I booted into my OS's to run diagnostics on a memory stick which wasn't being reognised by the BIOS. In short the OSs were using the memory despite the BIOS not recognising it. It sent them doolally.