PDA

View Full Version : First Job

daisypickers
1st Sep 2005, 06:43
G'day All

Im a student pilot currently undertaking studies at university and will finish in around 2 months. I have a CPL, twin endorsement, NVFR and will probably do my instructor rating once the semester finishes. I know that your first job is always your hardest so i'd just like some advice on where to find it? and if there are many out there?? Any thoughts or comments on this topic would be great!!

jarjar
2nd Sep 2005, 02:53
My suggestion is that you sit down and think about what it is you really want out of your career. An instructor rating will only be good to you if you plan to stay in instructing for a while, dont do it just because its there. Instructing may help you fine tune some of your basic flying skills and if you stay in it long enough you will advance through the grades and accumulate some valuable flying. What you have to decide is whether or not you will enjoy instructing. On the other hand save your money(for an instrument rating-not necessarily now), and go bush to find a charter job and accumulate hours that way. both these career paths can be extremely rewarding, and repeating what I said earlier, you must decide what path you will find most satisfying.

Cheers:ok:

daisypickers
2nd Sep 2005, 04:22
Thank you JarJar, you've given some valuable advice and certainly something for me to think about!

Continental-520
2nd Sep 2005, 08:42
May I suggest that you don't waste any more money on twin time. I know you haven't indicated that you were going to, but I've heard of a few guys who think that some extra twin time will improve their chances of getting a first job, or getting onto a twin later.

Sure, hours are hours, it will add to your total time, but you can do it a lot cheaper than that if you're going to private hire something.