PDA

View Full Version : why are we despised?

LONGBOW1
7th Jul 2005, 09:33
what is it about aircraft spotting that creates such negative reactions from many people? im sick of being branded a geek ,nerd anorak,loser etc if i mention to people my interests include( but are not limited to aircraft spotting), this sort of reaction even extends to people engaged in aviation i was recently staying at a hotel close to aldergrove when i got chatting to a couple of pilots and an engineer employed by a well known charter /scheduled carrier in the bar, when i mentioned i was a keen spotter i was treated with barely concealed contempt, why? i would have thought people who actually work in aviation would understand the fascination it holds for many "outsiders"

skiddyiom
7th Jul 2005, 10:06
I can sympathise there. After "spotting" for some 40+ years, I still get the "nerd, geek, anorak" comments from most people. I work in the industry and they are the worst people for this. The view seems to be that if you take any interest whatsoever in aviation then you are some sort of idiot.

These same people can quote you chapter and verse many and various facts and figures about aviation, regestrations etc but they are NOT interested! Bull****.

My advice is to ignore the people who try to run down your hobby and just get on with it. Stuff the macho idiots who think anything that doesnt involve getting pissed and shagging is nerdy.

Remember, sticks and stones etc!!!

skiddy

Harrier46
7th Jul 2005, 10:13
Same experience as previous posters, I work in the industry and to be frank it is rather insular, a cosy little club which is difficult to get into. And not even the sharpest tools in the box either. I never cease to be amazed at the number of pilot CVs I receive when I am not even an aircraft operator!!

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
7th Jul 2005, 10:34