View Full Version : Clever trojan email - maybe?


Speechless Two
17th April 2005, 17:45
Maybe a valid warning to others, maybe not - just received this unsolicited email from adminATflexiprint - no attachment, just the following as amended by me so no-one tries to open it.

-------------------------------------------
Hello,

Your photograph was forwarded to us as part of an article we are publishing for our May edition of Business Review Monthly. Can you check over the format and get back to us with your approval or any changes you would like.

If the photograph is not to your liking then please attach a preferred one. We have uploaded the photo and article here,

httx ://www.publishing.0catch.com/ then they have a zip file here named YourPhoto.zip as part of the address
Kind regards,

John Andrews

Dept. Marketing

httx ://wwx .FlexiPrint.xxx - amended by me
-----------------------------------------

Google does not show any magazine with the title of Business Review Monthly nor does a search for the FlexiPrint website with a .com suffix come up with anything in the first few pages of Google. When you type the website address at the end of the email into IE and try to open it, it is password protected. I'm not in business as I'm retired, so the magazine would not interest me anyway.

As it happens at the moment I have concerns about a photograph on my own website being published without permission but the email address these people have used is not listed on that site.

So any ideas of what nasty might be contained in this. Both my ISP's virus checker and Norton have cleared it but I have no intention of opening the zip file.



Evo
17th April 2005, 18:31
Sounds dodgy - I rather doubt a "Business Review Monthly" magazine would use a low-end free webspace provider. As ever, if you didn't ask for it or don't know the sender then bin it...

Speechless Two
18th April 2005, 00:22
Just got an identical one from College Prep Monthly - Mr Andrews certainly gets about!