PDA

View Full Version : Weekend away- Where to??

propelled
12th Apr 2005, 09:57
Hi, 1st time poster here so not sure if i'm posting in the right spot... anyway,

I'm a relatively new pilot who hasn't really nav'd anywhere since getting my PPL- i'm from syd, 23yo.
Basically thinkin of takin some mates away for a couple of days to sink some cans etc.

Just wondering on some ideas on where to fly to (within approx. 2hrs each way of bk) where the strip is fairly close to town and there is a bit of nightlife .. ideas so far are coffs, port, canberra..??

And coz i've never refuelled away from home, is it relatively easy to do at other aerodromes? and should i call the numbers listed in ERSA for fuel b4 i leave, or do u just rock up at the pump??

Thanks - and hope i put this question in the right spot...

Ultralights
12th Apr 2005, 10:05
.new pilot who hasn't really nav'd anywhere since getting my PPL-
I would do a few shorter navs with your friends first, maybee to Mudgee, or the hunter region, as taking mates on your first real nav will be very distracting! not a good thing while trying to build confidence! plenty of wineries up that way worth looking at. i think some actually have their own airstrips.

Port is an interesting place to go, and relativly good night life. Coffs is good also. also Morouya on the south coast. though the night life there well, is umm....

Or look for a B&S somewhere out west! good fun, free booze! very easy woman! (condoms included in price, as well as food and Booze) just remember to ware a flano and akubra! usually you will find em at Condobolin, dubbo, Parkes, central NSW. and also a good 2 hr flight away.

oce you get a bit more experience, you can do navs to Surfers with your mates! always a good weekend there!

as for refuelling, no different from filling your car and using your eftpos card in the bowser. except that you obviously need to earth first.