PDA

View Full Version : ATR vs Dash 8

MJR
12th Apr 2005, 09:36
As an aspiring ATR pilot I was wondering what determines whether an airline buys ATR's or Dash 8's in terms of operational performance as opposed to the best financial deal at the time?

I would be interested in any particular pro's or con's with either aircraft.

cheers

MJR :}

LEM
12th Apr 2005, 09:47
ATR=Money making machine.

Dash, notso.

DH1
12th Apr 2005, 09:57
Quite a lot of factors really...

Just in terms of size, the ATR-42 falls between the Dash 8 -200 and -300. The ATR-72 is similar size to the -400, but the -400 is quite a bit faster.

So it depends on the airlines route / fleet mix really.

MJR
12th Apr 2005, 09:58
pourquoi? can you elaborate

ta

MJR

Captain Stable
12th Apr 2005, 15:33
Are the Dash-8 family all one type-rating on the licence that can be operated simply with alternating base checks in the same way as the ATR's?

used2flyboeing
12th Apr 2005, 17:58
Dash - 8 is one of the safest turboprops ever made - it has fantastic short field performance, I witnessed a demo at Yankee stadium where a D-8 landed on the diamond,periouted & took off again outof the stadium. THe ATR was initially plagued with aileron / icing problems hence the addition of vortex generators to "patch" the aileron effectiveness when iced up.. That being said - the newer ATR's are much improved with composite materials & noise cancellation technologies. Most thought the turboprop would have been a dead issue by now because 1) public perceptions of safety of jets over turboprops & 2) the comparable cost of jets IE 737s, A320 & MD-80s can be had for a song after the collapsing asset values following 9-11. However, with the new Embraer ERJ-170 - a mini-777 for 24 million - I wonder how long turboprops can hang in there ..... smashing bugs ..??

MarkD
12th Apr 2005, 18:59