PDA

View Full Version : What makes a good chief pilot?

Aussie FI 3A
6th Apr 2005, 08:17
Gday
Im fairly new to charter flying and im still trying to figure out how best to deal with a full time CP of a large company, my previous experience has been with smaller companies and non-dirrect supervission. Beyond the strict letter of the law, what specific actions/attributes make a great chief pilot as opposed to an avergage or lousy one?
I'm also after some pointers for conflict resolution when differences of opinion arise. How do you go about raising and resolving issues without ending up the kiss **** or the pain in the ****

Erin Brockovich
6th Apr 2005, 08:57
pointers for conflict resolution when differences of opinion ariseFrom what I have been told, don't bother with your current cp if you're at nac. The people I know who have had any regular conflict with management in that company in the past have been employed by QF. Guess what, the kiss asses haven't. Stick to your guns, do the right thing and keep your integrity and reputation. Doing this is not easy in GA but it is respected by the ones that count.

Now, a cp should represent the pilot group and casa within the company structure. Not be the GMs bitch and bully. I would have to say actions/attributes of a great cp include -

INTEGRITY
Honesty
Ability
Reliability
Stability (mental)
Have realistic expectations
Have a conscience
Use their memory and not forget where he/she started....................anyone feel free to add to the list.

Believe it or not I have had a cp like this a few years ago. You will meet all types in this industry. The good ones make it worth while.

Richo
6th Apr 2005, 13:17
Aussi FI

I have been a CP in the past, and I have also met some good ones and some less effective ones, but luckily never a BAD one.

Truthfully all CPs are good at some times and poor at others, our memory of them is dependant upon which side we fall.