PDA

View Full Version : correct answer to the question "don't you just push buttons?!"

moo
15th Mar 2005, 16:44
I need to get some ammo for those people that when finding out you're a pilot then reply "don't you just push buttons, I mean its all automatic isn't it?" GRRRRRRR!!!! :mad:
I end up waffling for so long on how thats not true that people get confused/bored!! So, bullet points would be useful! hehe! ;)

woops....sorry mods, was meant to go in JB....please move!

birdlady
15th Mar 2005, 17:50
An airline pilot may just push buttons but you can always point out what happens if the wrong button is pushed
Im being naughty here - playing devils advocate
On a more serious note:
1. you can always point out then why, if its just a case of pushing buttons, there are not more pilots out there. :hmm: :hmm:
2. Computers and gadgets have been known to fail due to mechanical errors so one needs to know what to do if this happens.
Generally, when I tell someone Im a pilot there first response is "But your a girl" := := :p :E

Maude Charlee
15th Mar 2005, 18:33
How about.....

"No, I have a co-pilot to do that."

or,

"No, we're too busy with the crossword and our Gin and Tonic to bother with button pushing. I mean, it's so working class."

scroggs
15th Mar 2005, 18:51
I just push buttons, me. When I'm not reading the paper or calculating my property and shares profits, or planning my luxury holiday home in Barbados.

Hansard
15th Mar 2005, 19:00
I don't let button-pushing interrupt me anymore. If I don't bother to push any buttons, the failsafe automatic button-pushing function kicks in, so I just let that do all the work.

GRANTS
15th Mar 2005, 19:58
A Doctor just cut people and close them.
anything more simple then that?...

Gin Slinger
15th Mar 2005, 21:42