PDA

View Full Version : Going to Florida - advise please

Kingron
25th Feb 2005, 16:50
First of all I am new to the PPRUNE but I am getting hooked.

I am going to Florida to learn to fly. Now I know all about supporting local flying schools and I will - when I get back. But if I dont go away and do this then I will never do it.

Anyway so there are a lot of people looking on the site - in a similar position to me. I am going to start my ground school studies next week with the Oxford Discs so that I can get them out the way.

I am thinking of heading out to Florida at the End of April for 4 weeks.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

I am wondering from those who know with all the different flying schools it would seem - Avoid Ormond like the plague...

So there is Orlando, Naples and EFT. All seem good, does anyone know which is really best or - are they all good so it doesnt really matter.

I am going for the JAA PPL. I want to fly, I always have. If anyone is thinking of going out around the same time please feel free to drop me a line.

All advice on how long ground school will take, should I book 1-2-1 lessons, how do I go about booking exams... all advice appreciated although I will continue to read books and trawl through the forums.

Ta!

CAT3C AUTOLAND
25th Feb 2005, 17:20
Kingron,

First of all welcome.

This really has been done to death on PPRUNE. Use the search function and you will read many different conflicting opinions.

In a nutshell, I have been to two schools you mention, Ormond and Naples. Out of the the two I would choose Naples for a PPL, however, I had no gripes with Ormond, but NAC is simply better in my opinion.

With respect to the exams, you can self study and take them when you get to the states if you wish.

Good luck, and you will have a great time when you are out there, it is really a lot of fun. Oh, and April is a great time to catch some really great weather.

All the best.

AndyDRHuddleston
25th Feb 2005, 19:11
kingron,