PDA

View Full Version : Flying in New Zealand

Sylvie
1st Feb 2005, 00:59
Hi everyone,

I am an Australian private pilot (training for commercial) and would like to take my 70 year old Dad on a flight through New Zealand for a couple of days, probably in 2006. Since I want to fly as PIC (not taking a local instructor), what are the requirements to hire a plane (e.g. Cessna 172)? I know I have to register with CAA to start with, but do I also have to do a mountain flying course, so that I can actually get a plane? I quite like the idea of getting some mountain flying training anyway, so if someone has a tip for a flying school, please let me know. I'm grateful for any tips on routes to fly (I loved that mountain scene in the Lord of the Rings when the beacons are lit, does anyone know which mountain range that was..?) and whatever else might be useful.

Thanks in advance and enjoy the flying!

Sylvie

NoseGear
1st Feb 2005, 07:34
Hi Sylvie, if you go to the website for the New Zealand CAA, www.caa.govt.nz and look under licencing it will outline what you need to do to obtain a NZ PPL.

As for the flying trip, if you want to fly around the South Island, look at clubs in Christchurch, as you can fly directly there from Aussie. If you want to start in Auckland, I suggest the Auckland Aero Club if you want to hire one of their aircraft. It would take you around 6 hours to get to Queenstown from Auckland in a 172, so 2 days flying if you take it easy. There are lots of enroute places to stop, and the wx this time of year seems to be the best. If you want anymore info, I am sure there are pilots out there who are more current at flying around NZ than I am.

Good luck and have fun, its a beautiful place to fly.

Nosey

flyby_kiwi
1st Feb 2005, 07:50
Check out the licence conversion deal at www.caa.govt.nz In short, the CPL licence exchange will be a fairly simple one and if its anything like converting NZ to Auz licence you can do it before you go.