PDA

View Full Version : Where do I start?

ge.eng
26th Jan 2005, 08:53
I am an engineering apprentice working for General Electric, due to finish my training in a year at the age of 24. I have always loved the idea of becoming a pilot but have always pursued a carrer in engineering, through university and now this apprenticeship. Recently however I have been seriously concidering this option but unfortunatley have no idea where to start. Any information or advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Send Clowns
26th Jan 2005, 10:30
Start with a trial lesson. Contact a flying club (I'm sure there must be one at Cardiff airport) and book for an hour. Let them know you want to fly more, and make sure you fly most of the flight. I always encourage trial lesson students to do the take off, but many instructors don't like to do this.

The next course depends on what you want from flying. If you only want to spend money towards a commercial licence then go to Gatwick for a class one medical. If you would want to fly as a hobby anyway, then don't worry about a medical yet.

Next book yourself onto a PPL course. If there is more than one flying school nearby then visit all and find which you prefer. Spend as much time as possible with pilots or at the flying club. You pick up a lot by being in the environment.

The next things you need will be to build your hours up to 150 and complete the ATPL groundschool, but that is something you will get to know more about as you learnt he PPL and talk to other pilots.

ge.eng
26th Jan 2005, 10:42
Many thanks for the advice, Cardiff airport has a newly refurbished and unfortunatley more expensive flying club.
I shall take your advice and get as much experience as is possible. I always knew that this was never going to be a cheap carrer option but I am begining to realize just how much this is going to cost.
This is something I really want to pursue though, its only money...right?

G SXTY
26th Jan 2005, 12:19