PDA

View Full Version : Signed Aviation Books

Tempest
19th Jan 2005, 11:06
Signed Aviation Books

I have collected aviation books signed by famous flyers for nearly as long as I have been a pilot – some 25 years.

I am interested to discover which rare or unique signed books hold pride of place in other people’s collections.

My top 5 are:

The Last Enemy written and signed by Richard Hillary

Malta Spitfire written and signed by 'Screwball' Beurling

The Big Show written and signed by Pierre Clostermann

The Lonely Sky written and signed by Bill Bridgeman

Bomber Pilot written and signed by Leonard Cheshire VC

I am particularly looking for a signed copy of ‘Ginger Lacey – Fighter Pilot’. Does anyone have one available?

Fellow collectors can send me a PM to discuss book exchanges, trades etc.

BeauMan
19th Jan 2005, 13:21
I don't have many, but those that I do have are treasured possessions and will never be available for trade.

Three come immediately to mind; well, two books and one print:

"Spitfire Ace", which both Bob Doe and Nigel Rose signed for me last August, and "609 at War", which Jimmy Stewart signed for me in July. Both intensely humbling moments for me.

Also have a limited edition print of "Hunters of the Night", depicting the late John Cunningham's Beaufighter 1F, signed by both John and the artist. Given my PPRuNe handle, you can imagine how much that means to me.

Atcham Tower
19th Jan 2005, 13:27
I have signed copies of Chuck Yeager's autobiography (not rare, it cost the same as an unsigned copy!) and Johnnie Johnson's Wing Leader. Also a copy of Cornwall Aviation Co with a photo signed by renowned 1930s wing walker and pilot Martin Hearn.

Saw a signed copy of one of St Exupery's books a few years ago, on offer for about £4,000!

effortless
19th Jan 2005, 13:32
First Light by Geoffrey Wellum is my no. 1 favourite, well apart from my dad's log books of course.:O

Genghis the Engineer
19th Jan 2005, 21:23
Books I've got that's signed:-