PDA

View Full Version : Jaa-atpl Or Jar/fcl-atpl?

stefair
17th Jan 2005, 14:14
Hi there,

I'm currently a fulltime Aerospace Engineering student but wish to embark on a professional flying career upon graduation.

I plan on obtaining my FAA-PPL in this summer in the US prior to going on to choosing the JAA or JAR/FCL path. My query to you is what type of ATPL do you think would be most beneficial to me for launching a successful flying career? As a German native I'd like to live in the UK at least for the next 4 years but deem to return to my home country thereafter.

To reduce costs I think a modular training course in conjunction with a distance learning course will tailor my needs just perfectly, yet I'm unsure whether to choose a flight school in Germany or the UK?

What do you think is easier to convert, the JAA-ATPL into JAR/FCL or vice versa, in particular in terms of costs?

Ultimately, can you recommend a decent flight school offering distance learning courses nearby Bristol, where there I go to College? What do you think about Oxfort Aviation Training? I've heard that facility was a great choice, however, it is not around my neighborhood!?

Thanks very much in advance for all your answers.

Best regards,
-stefair

stefair
17th Jan 2005, 15:25
Hi pressman,

Honestly, I AM confused as there are so many things to consider...

Regarding the FAA-PPL: I've been told it didn't matter whether I'm going for a JAA-PPL or FAA-PPL as the further training will take me from there anyway? Please correct me if I am wrong here! The reason for me choosing the FAA path is that I have friends, whom live nearby the flight school in California. Said that the school only offers FAA training but is situated nearby my friends' place and therefore would save me the costs of a rental car.