PDA

View Full Version : For fun or career?

FlyinAnywayICan
15th Jan 2005, 04:06
For fun or career?

I'm seriously considering forking out a lot of my (dads(with his approval)) money on an integrated course from start to finish. I have done 16 hrs of flying a light aircraft. A pitiful sum but they have been some of the most enriching and inspiring hours of my life. Just going up and being able to reach out and touch the clouds is fantastic.

My questions are these:

1: What can i hope for when i come out the far side fresh and new? (I will get there)

2: Where are the good places with good reputations to train on an ab-initio course?

3: What sort of salary can i expect? (Working for ends meet? and then as a starter with a large airline?)

4: Will i enjoy flying for a living as much as i enjoy flying for fun?

I'm not expecting to know the answers to my questions unless i get out there and do, and i doubt anyone will be able to stop me when i get going; but what is the best way of getting going?

Thanks to anyone who reads. Bigger thanks to any replies.

FlyinAnywayICan

G-SP0T
15th Jan 2005, 11:57
Just going up and being able to reach out and touch the clouds is fantastic.

I think its about time you learn't about what u can and cant do whilst VFR.

Foz2
15th Jan 2005, 12:15
G-spot - don't be such a smart arse.

As far as integrated courses go - Oxford, Cabair, Jerez are the big three really. There are other routes to getting the licence such as the modular route (probably around 2/3s the price and you can go at your own pace). There are many more modular schools to choose from and if you could find one near where you live, you wouldnt have to fork out the huge sums for accomodation. Where are you based?

Regarding jobs at the end of your training, I believe its just luck of the draw. You could have a look at www.ppjn.com - that will give you a rough idea of what the airlines are paying.

Hope that helps

Feel free to pm me if you want.

Foz

FlyinAnywayICan