PDA

View Full Version : Buying RT Receiver

Trim & Proper
30th Oct 2004, 13:50
Hi, I really want to buy a hand-held receiver so that I can listen in to my local ATC and brush up on my RT. I've got about £15O - £200 to spend on a hand held receiver, can anyone advise me which is the best one to buy in this price range and where can I obtain it from ???

Your advice is much appreciated as I am a TYRO PPL and a complete novice in this area....

BEagle
31st Oct 2004, 07:01
In that price range, there are vastly more capable receivers available than just a simple airband receiver.

You might want to consider the ICOM IC-R5 which covers 0.150 MHz to 1310 - a huge range of frequencies, including both civil 118-137 and military 225-400 frequency bands. It also includes 8.33kHz channelling for the civil VHF band.

Do remember that there are restrictions on the use of wide band receivers, although the subject is a bit vague. A u/t PPL pilot brushing up on R/T would probably be absolutely fine, but scanning the police frequencies obviously wouldn't!

I've seen the IC-R5 advertised at £189.99 in a well-known UK pilot shop's brochure, but you may find it cheaper elsewhere.

If all you wany is a straight Airband receiver without either 8.33 kHz channelling or military frequencies, there's the Maycom AR-108 at £79.99 from the same place.

Easiest way to find a place selling such radios is to type ICOM IC-R5 into the Google search bar.... Or eBay - there's currently a very good one being auctioned by an ICOM dealer.

ramsrc
1st Nov 2004, 06:02
Another one to consider is the Yupiteru MVT-7100 or its slightly smaller (in size) brother the MVT-7300 (which actually has more features). Both of these are extremely sensitive and make excellent little receivers.

PM me if you want to know where to get hold of these - unfortunately to post the name of a company would go against PPRuNe's terms and conditions.