PDA

View Full Version : Leeds Flying School, aeros or Airways Exeter for IR

silverknapper
12th Oct 2004, 21:45
Title says it all really!! Does anyone have views on any of these three schools.

Many Thanks

SK

r44flyer
12th Oct 2004, 22:15
I'm currently doing a degree in aviation technology with pilot studies at leeds uni, in partnership with leeds flying school. (does that make me bias? :P ) had no experience of instruction yet but so far they appear to be a very professional outfit. staff are friendly and approachable, student satisfaction is good so ive heard. plus they operate cougars instead of senecas, which are apparently nicer to fly and a little more forgiving, and its a little cheaper.

aeros have excellent facilities, quite a large fleet. did my ppl(h) with a company who shared their hanger. seemed to be a very busy place. good sim as well.

not hugely useful... but i try.

EGBKFLYER
13th Oct 2004, 05:20
Did IR and CPL with Aeros and would do FI with them too if I go that route.

Excellent school - new facilities, well maintained all Piper fleet and a new FNPT 2 for what that's worth. My biggest need was for a well organised course since I kept my 'day job' while flying. They delivered exactly what they promised, in the time they promised (5 weeks IR and 10 days CPL in my case). The instructors are a friendly bunch and know their stuff, they have a good relationship with the CAAFU examiners and Gloucester isn't a bad airfield to train from. They also work on a 2:1 student/ instructor ratio, flying every day M-F. That helps too.

Any downsides? They asked me to pay up front. This would not have been my first choice, though an educated bit of financial research revealed they are in no danger of going bust, which made it a risk worth taking IMO... Can't think of anything other than that.

If you want to know more, PM me.

Reverand Lovejoy
13th Oct 2004, 14:19