PDA

View Full Version : Easiest £35,000 I ever borrowed

Captain Ratpup
24th Sep 2004, 13:21
After reading stories here about how hard it was to get the money together for the training, I thought I'd write about my own experiences with getting the Professional Studies Loan. I couldn't believe how straightforward it all was.

I graduated from university a year ago and I've just jacked in a poorly-paid banking job to get on with the groundschool. I was kind of kidding myself into thinking that flying actually really wasn't what I wanted so I ended up persuading myself to try to make a career in banking instead! Silly really, I know! I've had a PPL for five years and I've known for longer than that that I wanted to fly planes for a living.

What really made my mind up about flying as a career was hearing a guy in a guitar shop describing his life as second-rate because he didn't take the chance to become a pilot when he had it. He's now in his late 40s, owns a guitar shop, looks skywards on hearing a jet and subscribes to Airliner World. I'm sure he has a happy life but it's obvious that this is something he really regrets not doing.

Needless to say, I'm already in substantial debt as a result of university and I was having the usual fears of never getting a job at the end of the training. More to the point, I was almost convinced that the banks wouldn't touch me with a bargepole.