PDA

View Full Version : Which career path?

mikeshort101
4th Sep 2004, 16:06
Hi gents,

Just wondering if you can give me some help. At present I'm studying for my degree at University in Economics (Bsc), and am 20 years old. However, after finishing University, I am looking at a career in flying, and from what I understand, this place offers good advice to young, aspiring pilots, such as myself.

My brother is a F/O with a major airliner and informs me that there are two main options for me to follow, and as I like to plan ahead, am finding it difficult to get a range of different views on which option would be best suited for me.

Option 1 - CPL Course at a regional flight school (eg Cabair) following, if possible, into an ATP Academy scheme

Option 2 - The CTC-McAlpine Scheme

Option 1:

This option appeals to me somewhat, for several reasons.

1. It would be funded, mostly, by my parents and is perfectly reasonable for me to do so, financially.
2. It would mean I could be based at home, and given the hard nature of the ground schools, some home comforts would help get me through some difficult nights
3. I have a certain infrastructural resource, with my brother already in place at an airline, where he knows a lot of the right people. Surely this would work in my favour?
4. There wouldn't be an earnings duck like there is on the CTC-McAlpine Scheme.

However, there are some drawbacks that I see with this option.

1. There is no guarantee of employment off an ATP scheme
2. There is no guarantee I will get on an ATP scheme (how hard are they to get on out of curiosity?)
3. Perhaps it isn't as preferred as other schemes?

Option 2:

Pro's

1. Pretty much guaranteed job at the end of the course.
2. Knowledge that you'll be placed with an airline, and who the airline are from Day one.
3. The financial side is less damaging than option 1 (correct?) however, this isn't too much of an issue due to the help of my parents.

Any other pro's let me know.

Cons